California Mature Driver Discount Questions

How does it work?

According to California law, your car insurer is mandated to provide you a discount for three years if you have successfully completed a mature driver improvement course.

What are the requirements?

If you are 55 or older and have a valid California driver’s license, you will receive an insurance discount by completing our 400-minute Online Mature Driver Improvement Course.

How much can I save?

The amount of discount you will receive depends on your insurance company.

How do I get my discount?

According to California Code 11628.3, each insurer is required to provide a reduction in insurance premium rates for motor vehicle liability insurance to principal operators who are 55 years of age or older who present proof of completion of the mature driver improvement course approved by the California DMV.

Is your course approved?

Yes. Under the curriculum and standards set forth by California Vehicle Code 1675, we are an approved course provider of the California Mature Driver Improvement Course.

How long is the course?

The Initial course is 400 minutes or 6 hours and the Refresher course is 240 minutes or 4 hours. Both courses can be completed at any time day or night and you have up to 6 months to complete the course.

What is the course like?

The course is comprised of text, pictures and animations to reinforce the safe driving concepts and is presented in a user-friendly format for viewing and reviewing.

What course should I take?

If you have never completed a California Mature Driver Improvement Course then you must take the California Mature Driver Initial Course. If you have already completed a California Mature Driver Improvement Course and your certificate hasn’t expired, or no more than one year has elapsed since the expiration date of your certificate, you can take the California Mature Driver Refresher Course.

How do I get my certificate?

Once you’ve completed the course, we will process your completion right away and send your certificate via first-class mail to the address you provide in registration.